Prepare For Battle

Welcome to the underhive, Juve. As a new recruit to one of the many hive gangs fighting for territory, for supplies or just to survive, it’s time to gather your fellow gangers around you, pick an opponent and head into the depths. But remember – the enemy could be around the next corner or waiting in the shadows behind any doorway, so keep an eye out, and always watch your back…

Before playing their first game, each player will need to assemble their fighters (and ideally paint them!), so that each one is carrying the appropriate equipment. The assembly guide included in the box shows how to assemble each fighter so that they match up with one of the Ironlords or Carrion Queens Fighter cards.


Whether you’re fighting a skirmish in ancient tunnels, pushing into the territory of a rival gang or even making a last stand in your own stronghold, you’d best pay attention to your goals, Juve… or risk losing everything.

Each game of Necromunda is defined by the scenario you choose to play. These range from brief but bloody chance encounters between rival gangers to full-scale raids deep into enemy territory. Games can be linked together into campaigns in which your gang grows and accumulates wealth.

The scenarios in the Necromunda: Underhive box focus on confrontations fought in the labyrinthine tunnels of the lower hive cities where many newly-founded gangs first seek to establish themselves. Once your gang has gained some notoriety, the Necromunda: Gang War expansion will allow you to take the action into the open spaces of the manufactory domes above.

Zone Mortalis

These tunnels are no place for cowards, Juve. Dark, cramped and filled with horrors, they’re as dangerous as your rival gangs, and make sure that only the strongest of us survive…

In the Necromunda: Underhive box you’ll find a wealth of tiles representing the Zone Mortalis, the deadly tunnels beneath Hive Primus. These can be configured in a variety of ways, and the included doors, barricades, booby traps and other scenery mean you can create endlessly variable battlefields to fight over.

How to Paint: Components


The Necromunda: Underhive box contains everything you need to start playing, including cards, dice, templates and more. Below you’ll find more details of the various components.

  • Fighter Cards
  • Blank Cards
  • Tactics Cards
  • Markers and Templates
  • Vision Arc
  • Dice
  • Each player’s gang is made up of a number of fighters, each of which is represented by a plastic miniature and a Fighter card. Necromunda: Underhive contains two sets of Fighter cards representing the Ironlords Goliath gang and the Carrion Queens Escher gang.

    Each Fighter card is split into several areas:

    1. The fighter’s name. If they are a Leader or Champion, it will also be shown here.
    2. The fighter’s value, in credits.
    3. The fighter’s characteristics.
    4. The weapons the fighter is carrying.
    5. Any skills the fighter may have.
    6. Any equipment (including armour) carried by the fighter.

  • The game also includes a number of blank Fighter cards. We recommend that new players use the Ironlords or the Carrion Queens to start with, but experienced players might wish to generate their own gang, for which they will need to use the blank Fighter cards.

  • Tactics cards can be used to represent the myriad tricks and schemes employed by the gangs. There are three types of Tactics cards:

    • Gang Tactics, which can be used by any gang
    • Escher Tactics, which can only be used by House Escher gangs
    • Goliath Tactics, which can only be used by House Goliath gangs
  • Explosions, jets of flame and area effects are represented in the game by Blast markers and Flame templates, which are used to determine how many fighters are hit by such an attack or an effect.

  • Two card Vision Arc templates are included (one for Escher fighters and one for Goliath fighters), which can be used to determine a fighter’s vision arc.

  • A number of dice are used in Necromunda to resolve the outcome of various actions. The game makes use of four different types of dice: D6, Injury Dice, Firepower Dice, and Scatter Dice.